Iowa Bands
« Elementree Records (run by Korn) »

Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 29, 2010, 2:04pm




Iowa Bands :: General :: Opportunities and Scams :: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
   [Search This Thread][Reply] [Send Topic To Friend] [Print]
 AuthorTopic: Elementree Records (run by Korn) (Read 325 times)
Echelon
Groupie
*
member is offline





Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
 Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Thread Started on Aug 26, 2004, 11:42pm »
[Quote]

Hey everyone... Elementree Records (orgy, deadsy, marz), which is run by the band Korn, is on the lookout for new, unsigned talent. I work with the A&R department, and one of the only ways to get a demo in is through me (ha, makes me seem so important ;D).

This is how it works... If you send me a link to a site where I can download two or three of your songs, I will take a listen. I can promise you that I will listen to all submitions. If I think what you have is decent, I will shoot you back an email. From there, I will need a few things... I will need you to keep that same URL with the songs up so I can get the songs, I will need a link to some band photos, and I will need contact info from you. At that point, I will give all of that info to the heads of Elementree Records. EVERY DEMO I GIVE IS LISTENED TO. Once the demo is given to them, it is no longer up to me. Unlike many labels, the A&R do not make the final decisions. If the heads of the label hear something they like, they will contact you personally. You may hear from me time to time, especially if you get signed. If that's the case, I will call you... and thank you for being good enough to pay my bills.

Those of you that are familiar with this label know that no unsolicited demos are taken, you will also note that Elementree Records has no contact info because we believe in going out and finding artists, rather than sitting on our asses, waiting for them to come to us.

In short, what have you got to lose? In all honesty, Elementree Records is not looking to define itself as just one certain genre. While we are primarily a Rock/Metal label, we are looking for other options.

one final thing... quality of recording does not matter. As long as I can hear each instrument, it's fine.

If you are interested, send me an email to Whiskers_33@hotmail.com

I look forward to working with some of you in the future.

Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged
dustybottoms
Groupie
*
member is offline

[avatar]

Gravy makes everything better...



Joined: Jun 2004
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #1 on Aug 27, 2004, 11:38am »
[Quote]

I don't know, I think I'm pulling the bullshit card on this. I've seen scams like this 100 times. These companies give bands false hopes, appropriate their money, and leave them with nothing. They will promise you will "get signed" and you have to give them a deposit that you will "get back if you don't get signed" then they will sign you to their "label" and keep your money. I was contacted by a label called "alterantive spin" last year and they tried to "get me signed" and the group I was in wasn't even aspiring. I did some research and found out it was a scam and now (today) when i checked their website isn't even up anymore. This just a warning. A good rule of thumb in the biz is that if it seems too good to be true, it probably is.
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged
Lars
Rock Star
****
member is offline




[homepage]

Joined: Jun 2004
Gender: Male
Posts: 81
Location: Iowa City, IA
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #2 on Aug 27, 2004, 2:38pm »
[Quote]

Guess there's only one way to find out, huh?
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged

Echelon
Groupie
*
member is offline





Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #3 on Aug 27, 2004, 4:16pm »
[Quote]

Hey, it's me again. I just want you to know that THERE IS NO MONEY INVOLVED!!! Elementree Records is simply trying to get out there in ways other record companies don't. You don't pay a thing. All I do is listen to your music, and if I like it, I submit. I have already submitted one band for review, The Specimen. If you don't believe what I'm saying about Elementree Records, feel free to visit the website. Elementree is a legit record company. For crying out loud... Orgy was signed to Elementree, Deadsy currently is signed to Elementree, and Korn will most likely be releasing all future albums under Elementree.

I completely understand your hesitation, there ARE a bunch of groups out there like TAXI that just take your money and sign you to a bullshit label. All i'm trying to do is give you an opportunity.

Just so you know, I was in no way offended by your post, I expected someone to post something like that, just because of all the dishonesty going around.

So a few things...
1) I will NEVER ask you for money
2) I will listen to every band
3) I will email every band with honest responses
4) If I choose to submit, IT WILL BE LISTENED TO
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged
TheCanadian
Roadie
**
member is offline





Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #4 on Aug 28, 2004, 12:34am »
[Quote]

Ya know,
Just out of curiosity, I did a little homework, made a few phonecalls to some people I know, Elementree DOES have a Artist Relations department that do exactely what this guy is doing, and as long as I dont smell bullshit I would be fully interested in this opportunity.
But you know, follow your own instincts right?
Take care John, hope to hear back from you soon.
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged
Lars
Rock Star
****
member is offline




[homepage]

Joined: Jun 2004
Gender: Male
Posts: 81
Location: Iowa City, IA
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #5 on Aug 28, 2004, 7:14pm »
[Quote]

Hey all, this is Aaron from The Specimen. I e-mailed this guy, and he wrote back soon after, and said that he liked one of our tracks alot, and even addressed the song by title, which means that he definitely followed our link. He hasn't asked me for any money, and seems really genuine. The way he talked definitely made me believe that he listened to all of our tracks, he even made a comment about how diverse they were, which is a compliment that we get pretty often. So far I've seen nothing that would make me think it's a scam. Our songs are copyrighted, so there is nothing bad that could come from this in my opinion. He definitely seems legit, so I would encourage everyone to take him up on his offer. Take care!
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged

jsuicide
Groupie
*
member is offline





Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 0
 Re: Elementree Records (run by Korn)
« Reply #6 on Nov 7, 2005, 4:29pm »
[Quote]

I had the oppurtunity to do a job similar to this one for Elementree a couple years ago...and I'm afraid that it IS on the up and up. No scam...just KoRn trying to get some good music without all the normal industry bullshit.
Link to Post - Back to Top  IP: Logged
   [Search This Thread][Reply] [Send Topic To Friend] [Print]

Click Here To Make This Board Ad-Free



This Board Hosted For FREE By ProBoards
Get Your Own Free Message Boards & Free Forums!
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Report Abuse | Mobile